Creamed Spinach and Mushroom Quiche

So many times I surprise my oldest daughter with gifts and goodies with not much hoopla on her part but when I present her with food such as this dish it’s like she’s won lottery.

  
I’m at the point in my culinary journey where I don’t measure so I will just share the method and ingredients. 

SautĂ© a package of frozen spinach in olive oil until warmed through add a block of cream cheese, cheese of choice and some Parmesan and garlic. It will need a bit of whole milk at this point. Let mixture cool and combine it with 8 large beaten eggs. 

This will fill 2 pie crusts. I use a no roll crust that you press in to the pie plate, it is amazing. It is flour, salt veg or canola oil and a splash of milk(always use whole milk, there is no substitute).

I am forced to use a dumb electric stove so I baked the quiches at 325 for an hour, normal stoves that are gas powered could probably do 350 for 40 minutes.

My skinny little teenager, Paige ate more than half a quiche and my picky little four year old Jenna ate several big bites. She probably would have eaten an entire piece but she is currently obsessed with Nintendo Wii and didn’t have time for a sit down meal. Age 4 has always been the beginning of video game mania for my kids. Honestly, it’s better than having her little face glued to the iPad all day. She’s up and moving. I have to quit talking about her right now, she’s at her dad’s this week and I feel like my right arm is missing. 

Along with the quiches I made biscuits n gravy in the crockpot. I thought I could add the flour as usual to the ground beef(pork sausage is the usual meat in this dish)then put it in the crockpot with milk, salt and black pepper and it would thicken, wrong. I even tried making a slurry and adding it back in, nope. My improvisation skills kicked in and I added dried onion flakes and a bit of instant mashed potato flakes, viola…magic! I threw together some biscuits made with cooking oil, they were kinda crisp so I threw them in to the crockpot, mixed them around…delish!

Leave a Reply

