Mommying is a Full Time Job

I’ve encountered several people in my life who, when angered by jealousy or perhaps some other lack in their life throw the fact that I don’t, “work,” in my face. According to this article being the full time mother of three, beginning in 1995 and on going full time until Jenna graduates in 2030, qualifies as a job and an important one.

There are those that might look at my career as a mommy and think, wow, she has it easy but I don’t take my job for granted. Jenna is not yet 22 months old and she knows her ABC’s and can count to 10 and identify these elements without being prompted. When she is through eating she immediately places(tosses due to her small size)her dish, bowl and utensils in the sink.

Paige has never missed being on the honor roll. She is a straight A student. Our lives haven’t been easy, we’ve encountered a rocky road here and there but her grades are good, she takes wonderful care of herself, even though she’s in the preteen stage, she’s very mature and grounded in her priorities. I have myself to thank, even though we butt heads at times she knows I always want the best for her, keeping a preteen in a well balanced place with a good attitude is a mega job in itself.

My son, Cody was an only child for nearly 7 years, I made sure all his schoolwork ducks were in a row, I wanted him to have every opportunity that was available to him. Circumstances messed things up and for the last several years of his schooling I was unavailable on a daily basis. That has hurt my son greatly in many ways. I will never regret choosing to be a full time mommy, not because it’s easy and I get to sit on my butt eating bon bons(really, what is a bon bon?)it’s the fact that I know what my child is doing during the day, she’s learning, she’s sparkling clean, well fed, read to, nurtured. In less than 4 years when she leaves me for the big K maybe I’ll consider actually, “working,” then I’ll have to figure out who will wash the clothes, the dishes…hmmm seems I might actually be dually employed right now, no wonder I need a nap!

β€œAnyone who does anything to help a child in his life is a hero to me. ”
― Fred Rogers

7 thoughts on “Mommying is a Full Time Job

  1. Very good! I’m a single mom and am blessed to be able to just work part-time. Although I only have one kid left at home, she’s a high school freshman and really needs me home. I love dropping her off at and picking her up from school every day and I wouldn’t have it any other way.
    And yes – raising her is more time consuming than my “real” job!
    Great post!

    • Working for a paycheck and juggling a family is very hard work but sadly stay at home moms are misunderstood, my paycheck is in the form of good report cards from an almost 12 year old and thank you’s in a sweet toddler voice πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing your thoughts and taking time to comment and compliment my post, it means a lot to me! That’s really nice that you have a job that allows you to spend that extra time with your daughter. It’s always nice to be there right after school and hearing how their day was!

  2. You are so right about those who direct their opinions toward others because they are missing something in their lives. It takes courage to do what’s right and you are doing what’s right. BRAVO!!!!

    • πŸ™‚ Writing is so much more expressive and to the point than anything spoken verbally! I’m sure glad you stayed home for me until I was 12! My homemade school lunches(the thought of them)warms my heart to this day! ❀

Leave a Reply

